O’Connor Paynter shows she still has the ‘Power’ to be Woman-of-the-Year

‘Power Girl’ commanded the competition for Woman-of-the-Year, Patrina O’Conner Paynter, a popular radio host and dedicated community service provider in roles with Big Brother Big Sisters of Bermuda … and well beyond.

Fitting it was that last year’s winner, a noted hero of the Covid pandemic, Dr. Carika Weldon, was the illustrious prize presenter.

Weldon lavished deserved praise upon her successor, for work in a sector underserved, yet unabated in its quest.
“I had no clue and I’m so elated that it was Patrina O’Connor,” said Dr Weldon of the new female flag-bearer. “I used to work with her and she’s very determined in her work for the young people and selfless in our community.

“I couldn’t thinkl of a better person to hand it over to.” Modest in her acclaim, O’Connor Paynter was as modest in her acceptance, as she’d been loud at Power 95.

She spoke undeserving, in as the opposite is so. “I’m humbled! I’m honoured! I didn’t think myself deserving of this,” she said to TNN’s Trevor Lindsay at the presentation. “What has made this so special for me is that my Mom was sitting in the front row and to also have some of my Big Brothers and Big Sisters here.

“ I dedicate this to them, because they’ve always been here committed in the journey of what I do.” The recipient spoke of how she sought to speak life into all, with her outreach to the youth and their asuccess.

The awarding of O’Connor Paynter was a crowning moment of today’s World Woman’s Day.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful, or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites, or repeats previous comments will be removed.

User comments posted on this website are solely the views and opinions of the comment writer and are not a representation of or reflection of the opinions of TNN or its staff.

TNN reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments.

TNN accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for the comments made by users.