Youth Climate Summit Alumni Awards Ceremony

The Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute hosted an onsite reception for the Second Annual Youth Climate Summit on Thursday, November 24th,
to kick off in-person events during the
weeklong Summit.


In attendance was the Deputy Premier and Minister of Home Affairs, Hon. Walter Roban, Minister of Education, Hon. Diallo Rabain, Youth Climate Summit Partners and Non-Governmental
Organisations, as well as alumni from the 2021 Summit, who participated in the yearlong programme that followed, of and their invited guests.


During the evening, ten Youth Climate Summit (YCS) Alumni were recognised for their achievements throughout the year and received awards as Youth Climate Ambassadors.


“The Youth Climate Summit is a week-long event that engages young people in climate conversation and provides the foundation for a year of youth-led initiatives, “said Karla Lacey,
BUEI CEO. “It was important to recognize and celebrate the achievements of those who have stepped forward with dedication and determination to make a difference.”


YCS Partners Alexandra Smedley, Sustainability and Exposure Monitoring Analyst from Conduit Re and Sally Trott, Facilities Manager and Charity Committee Member for Axis Speciality Limited, presented Alumni Ambassador Awards to Climate Justice representatives Moriah Bridgewater
from the Berkeley Institute and Fabiola Adams, who is dually enrolled at CedarBridge Academy and Bermuda College. The Climate Justice team had focused on food security and the
development of community gardens.


Janaya Caines, Underwriting Analyst at Renaissance Re and Brett Henshilwood, Risk Advisory Partner from Deloitte Bermuda, awarded Sustainability representatives Satya Florence from
Somersfield Academy and Laura Hupman and Ava Gibson from Bermuda High School. The Sustainability team has initiated a programme to reduce plastic waste in school lunches.


Conservation Representatives Phoenix Palacio from the Bermuda Homeschool’s Network and Maya Kennedy from the Berkeley Institute were presented with their awards by Youth Climate
Summit Founding Partners Louise Twiss-West, Head of Wholesale Banking and Sustainability Executive Sponsor from HSBC and Andrew McFarlane, Head of Climate, AXA XL.


Presentations were also made to Conservation representatives D’Angela Symonds, Graduate of CedarBridge Academy and Elsie Hasting, Graduate of Warwick Academy. Both are currently furthering their education overseas. The Conservation three undertook three projects: mangrove reforestation, lionfish culling and sea grass restoration.
Special recognition was honoured to Conservation Member, Zahra Trott from the Berkely Institute, for having attended the highest number of events and her commitment throughout the
year. Zahra received her award from both Founding Partners.


Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful, or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites, or repeats previous comments will be removed.

User comments posted on this website are solely the views and opinions of the comment writer and are not a representation of or reflection of the opinions of TNN or its staff.

TNN reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments.

TNN accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for the comments made by users.