St. George’s make bevy of changes in attempt to wrest cup

Cup Match returns following a one year hiatus and some haggling over whether the event should even be held this year in the midst of the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

Saturday saw both contesting clubs host final trial matches for aspiring players, with final team selection following late last night.
Reigning champions Somerset have made two changes to their team, as they bid to keep the Cup Match trophy at the west end.

Gone are Stephen Outerbridge, the long serving early order batsman, and all-rounder Kwasi James, who have been predictably replaced by fast bowler Kamau Leverock and early to middle order batsman  Tre Manders.
Captained again by Justin DeSilva, with Terry’s Fray as his vice-captain Somerset will carry a strong batting side to Wellington Oval, knowing that a draw will suffice in their retention of the piece of silverware that is local cricket’s Holy Grail.

Conversely, the East Enders, starved of victory since last accomplishing the feat in 2011, have named two colts in what they hope is an attack orientated side that can make Onias Bascome’s debut as skipper an auspicious one.

With former captain Lionel Cann retired, veteran middle order batsman O.J. Pitcher not playing cricket this season and other batting options Macai Simmons and Treadwell Gibbons both suffering debilitating hand injuries it remains to be seen whether their replacements can prove adequate.

Newcomers to the Classic for the challengers include  Isaiah Greaves, a left-arm spinner, and  batsman Jamar Stovel.
Meanwhile, George O’Brien has been recalled and will stand as vice-captain to Bascome, who’s older sibling Oronde Bascome makes an unlikely return along with Detroy Smith and wicketkeeper/batsman Sinclair Smith.

Gone along with the retired Cann and injured Simmons, Gibbons and Pitcher are paceman Mackih McGowan and Zeko Burgess.


Jordan DeSilva – Captain
Terryn Fray – Vice Captain
Chris Douglas
Tre Manders
Kamau Leverock
Dion Stovell
Malachi Jones
Alje Richardson
Derrick Brangman
Steven Bremar (wk)
Greg Maybury

St. George’s:
Onias Bascome – Captain
George O’Brien – Vice Captain
Sinclair Smith (wk)
Detroy Smith
Jamar Stovel – Colt
Isaiah Greaves – Colt
Allan Douglas
Rodney Trott
Oronde Bascome
Justin Pitcher
Temiko Wilson
Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful, or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites, or repeats previous comments will be removed.

User comments posted on this website are solely the views and opinions of the comment writer and are not a representation of or reflection of the opinions of TNN or its staff.

TNN reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments.

TNN accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for the comments made by users.

Filed Photo