Six to be honoured at Arts Council Awards

This hybrid in-person and virtual event will take place at the Earl Cameron Theatre, where the Minister of Youth, Culture and Sport, Dr. Ernest Peets, will formally present awards in the categories of:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award;
  • Founder’s Award;
  • Patron Award; and
  • The Earl Cameron Award

Also on Sunday evening, the Department of Culture will feature a tribute video of the awardees which can viewed on This will air at 5.30 pm.

Minister Peets said, “This weekend, we’ll celebrate the recipients of the Annual Bermuda Arts Council Awards. This occasion is particularly poignant because the arts have suffered tremendously during the last two years of the pandemic.

“However, it’s also an important event in our annual cultural calendar, as it is the singular occasion where we recognize the incredible creative talent pulsating through Bermuda. And it recognizes the fruits of the personal, private and public investments made in the arts; and the heights we can achieve with persistence, hard work and talent. So it’s wonderful that we get to come together to recognise and highlight the importance of art in all its forms during this ceremony.

“On Sunday, I Iook forward to personally thanking the Arts Council Chair, Jennifer Phillips and the BAC members for their commitment to ensuring that this event took place this year.”

Sunday’s ceremony will be in keeping with the current public health guidelines. To learn more about the Bermuda Arts Council and its annual grants and awards, visit:

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful, or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites, or repeats previous comments will be removed.

User comments posted on this website are solely the views and opinions of the comment writer and are not a representation of or reflection of the opinions of TNN or its staff.

TNN reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments.

TNN accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for the comments made by users.