National Youth Policy Working Group Announced

You will recall that when I launched the National Youth Policy last year, we committed to engaging and empowering our young people, whose future is most affected by society’s actions today.

I also shared at the time that the National Youth Policy provides a unified approach to tackle issues faced by Bermuda’s youth and provide them with the support to have positive and productive futures.

At its launch last year, we also committed to creating a Working Group with a broad and diverse membership that could represent the Youth Policy’s goals.

Today, I am pleased to announce the members of the National Youth Policy Working Group.

They are:

Ariana Caines, Chair
Dr Nisrine Atieh
Pastor Leroy Bean
Emmanuel Faria
Danielle Frith
Kelly Hunt
Kimberley Jackson
Melissa Looby
Ajai Peets
Tanika Rayner
Terri-Lynn Richardson
Marli Amne Spriggs
Seon Tatem
Judy Teart
McKenzie Tuckett
Theo Wolffe
Seldon Woolridge

Our Ex-Officio is Mrs. Nadine Henry who is also one of the driving forces behind this initiative.

We believe that we have selected a balanced and representative Working Group of highly skilled and committed individuals, and I have tremendous confidence in what they will achieve with the National Youth Policy as its call to arms.

These individuals, who hail from a range of professional fields, are now charged with implementing the National Youth Policy 2021.

And I very much look forward to their work over the coming months.

The Working Group have already started meeting and have commenced their discussions regarding the implementation of eight Policy goals.

As a reminder those goals are:

1. Keep young people safe and protected from harm;
2. Achieve full potential in learning, development and education;
3. Minimize anti-social behaviour;
4. Increase employment and entrepreneurship opportunities;
5. Engage youth in sport, culture and recreation;
6. Support young people to be active and healthy;
7. Enable participation in civic engagement; and
8. Encourage diversity and inclusion.

This Government believes that Bermuda’s future belongs to our young people, and we look forward to collaborating with those who serve on the Working Group so that we can all fulfil the vision and mission of the National Youth Policy.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful, or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites, or repeats previous comments will be removed.

User comments posted on this website are solely the views and opinions of the comment writer and are not a representation of or reflection of the opinions of TNN or its staff.

TNN reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments.

TNN accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for the comments made by users.