Minister hails Bermuda Day Parade as “best of what Bermuda has to offer”

The Department of Culture is pleased to announce this year’s Bermuda Day float winners.

The public will note that there were more than 66 entries in this year’s parade. This was the most participants in the last 10 years.

And against the backdrop of a successful day of energy, culture and tradition, today the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, Owen K. Darrell, JP said, “Friday’s Bermuda Day activities truly demonstrated the best of what Bermuda has to offer.

“Thousands lined streets of Hamilton to witness an amazing display of high energy, culture, heritage, and of course community. Our people came together to participate in one of the most celebrated and anticipated events on our calendar, and I must commend the Bermuda Day parade participants for their vibrant and unique floats and entries.

“There were some very meaningful stories behind several of our float entries, and I wish to thank everyone for their participation. I must also extend a special acknowledgement to all in our community who gave to the Bermuda Day Fund. Their generous donations went a long way in assisting many of our parade entrants.”

The Minister continued, “I am well aware of the hard work, time, effort and preparation that goes into putting on an event of this magnitude, so I also wish to thank the team at the Department of Culture for generating a level of excitement for this year’s parade that helped us reach increased participation. We look forward to hosting an even bigger event next year.”

This year’s awards are as follows:

Natural Heritage Float:

  • 1st – Department of Culture

Upcycled Float:

  • 1st – Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. – Bermuda Alumnae Chapter

Art Float:

  • 1st – Casa dos Açores da Bermuda Ltd. 

Primary School Box Carts:

  • 1st – Harrington Sound Primary School

*Special Awards (Open to all judged categories):

Premier’s Award for Best Float

Cedarbridge Academy Float

Reggie Ming Award for Most Beautiful Float

Department of Culture 

Minister’s Award for Most Original Float

Vasco da Gama Club

Ruth Thomas Award for Best Heritage Float

Prospect Preschool

Best Preschool Float

Prospect Preschool

Dr. Kenneth E. Robinson Award for Best Primary School Float

Harrington Sound Primary School

Dr. Marjorie Bean Award for Best High School Float

CedarBridge Academy Float

Best Individual Float

The Trash Gobbler (Alexander Winfield)

L.C.C.A. Award for Best Charity Float

Jamaican Association of Bermuda

Best Corporate Float

Padma X (Sophia Cannonier) 

Lowdru Robinson Award for Best Government

Department Department of Culture

The Bermudian Excellence Award

CedarBridge Academy Car

Best Historical Float

Elliott School Alumni Association

Most Community Spirit Float

St. George’s Original Dancerettes 

Milestone Celebration Award

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. – Bermuda Alumnae Chapter

The Resilience Award

St. George’s Preparatory School

Best Tribute Award

Department of Sport and Recreation

Most Faithful Award

One Body in Christ Movement For God’s Purpose Float

Members of the public can rewatch the 2024 Bermuda Day Parade in its entirety here:

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful, or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites, or repeats previous comments will be removed.

User comments posted on this website are solely the views and opinions of the comment writer and are not a representation of or reflection of the opinions of TNN or its staff.

TNN reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments.

TNN accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for the comments made by users.