Cherie Whitter Announces New Permanent Secretary Appointments

The Head of the Public Service (HoPS) Cherie Whitter announced the appointment of four senior executive posts within the public service.

  • Mr. David Kendall, has been appointed to the post of Permanent Secretary for the Ministry of Health  (photo attached).
  • Ms. Lisa Smith-Clarke, has been appointed to the post of Permanent Secretary for the Ministry of Education  (photo attached).
  • Mr. Kirk Outerbridge has been confirmed and appointed to the post of Permanent Secretary for the Ministry of Public Works  (photo attached).
  • Mr. Andrew Pettit has been appointed to the post of Permanent Secretary for the Ministry of Home Affairs  (photo attached).

David Kendall:

David Kendall is a highly accomplished public health professional with a strong background in leadership, human resource management, and project management. In his most recent role as Director of the Department of Health for the Government of Bermuda, he demonstrated expertise in strategic and operational planning, pandemic response, and legislative projects. Mr. Kendall’s career also includes extensive experience in environmental health, where he implemented innovative programs and fostered collaboration across government and community organizations. He is a skilled communicator and negotiator, with a proven track record of building relationships and achieving results. Mr. Kendall holds a Master of Science in Environmental Health and is deeply committed to community service, as evidenced by his volunteer work and board memberships.


Lisa Smith-Clarke:

Ms. Smith-Clarke is an accomplished Educator with 31-years of public service. She has served as a Principal in the Bermuda Public School System and the Strategic Project and Policy Officer for the Ministry of Education and was responsible for managing two complex and noteworthy Education projects, including serving as the Governance Chairperson for the first phase of education reform, where she provided project management, technical advice and guidance. Other career highlights over the years, include her leadership in the role as President of the Association of School Principals. Ms. Smith Clarke holds a Masters of Science in Education. In addition, Ms. Smith- Clarke has Leadership Awards from Harvard’s Institute for Superintendents and Cornell University’s School of Public Policy. She has engaged in certified course work and credentials with both the Project Management Institute and the Institute of Internal Auditors. She has met the intense requirements of the PMI Talent Triangle and has been approved by the PMI Board to sit the PMP examination. Mrs. Smith Clarke has extensive technical skill development and experience that she will bring to the role of Permanent Secretary for the Ministry of Education.


Kirk Outerbridge:

Kirk Outerbridge brings over 25 years of public service experience to his new role as Permanent Secretary for the Minister of Public Works. Starting as a trainee engineer in 1998 at the Tynes Bay Waste-to-Energy facility, he briefly worked in Canada’s oil and gas sector before returning to Bermuda to manage the Tynes Bay facility for some 13 years. As Chief Engineer from 2019, he oversaw Bermuda’s infrastructure, including roads, water, waste, engineering services and capital project delivery for the government. With his wealth of experience and proven leadership, he hopes to bring stability and increased service delivery to a very complex and dynamic ministry, filled with professionals who serve our community daily. Mr. Outerbridge holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering and a Professional Engineering Designation with the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta.


Andrew (Drew) Pettit:

Andrew Pettit brings over 23 years of experience in environmental and project management. Mr. Pettit’s academic credentials include a Bachelor’s degree in Urban and Regional Planning and a Master’s degree in Landscape Architecture. His career began with a decade-long tenure as the Park Planner for the Department of Parks, where he made significant contributions to the enhancement of the island’s protected green spaces and historical sites. For the past 12 years he has served as first the Director of Conservation Services and then as Director of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. In these roles, he demonstrated leadership and expertise in developing and implementing comprehensive environmental policies, spearheading critical conservation initiatives, and overseeing the sustainable management of natural resources.

The public should note that these appointments are the result of recent executive management retirements as well as promotions within the senior ranks of the Public Service.

All posts took effect yesterday (June 3), with the exception of the Ministry of Education Permanent Secretary appointment, which takes effect July 1, 2024.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful, or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites, or repeats previous comments will be removed.

User comments posted on this website are solely the views and opinions of the comment writer and are not a representation of or reflection of the opinions of TNN or its staff.

TNN reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments.

TNN accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for the comments made by users.