Butler Organizes Literary Award Ceremony

On May 1 this year, nine Bermudian male authors will be recognized at the Leopard’s Club during the Daniel Literary Awards. The event is being organized by former PLP MP Dale Butler,
who himself has worked in publishing since 1978 and has even written a few books.

The gentlemen being recognized this year are Dr. Quito Swan, Dr. Edwin Smith, Ras Mykkal, Tony Brannon, Jonathan Land Evans, St. Clair “Brinky” Tucker, Terry Lister, Ezra Turner and Dr.
Raddell Tankard.

Mr. Butler is constantly asked for writing advice, from both older and younger aspiring authors and from every genre including poetry.

“ The next part of the program is to see more of these works become movies, go into poetry, rap songs and the development of some constructive dialogue as well,” he said. “ That part is very slow taking off the grounds, but the major step, which can be costly, is the printing side, which, hopefully, more books can be used in schools. That was one of the goals.”

The event on May 1 will be followed up by a similar one on June 5, which will be honoring female Bermudian authors.
Tickets to Sunday’s event can be purchased anytime next week at the Music Box on Reid Street, starting on Tuesday, April 26. All ticket sales are cash-only and tickets are $35. The
event will include various refreshments and entertainment, included in the ticket price.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful, or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites, or repeats previous comments will be removed.

User comments posted on this website are solely the views and opinions of the comment writer and are not a representation of or reflection of the opinions of TNN or its staff.

TNN reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments.

TNN accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for the comments made by users.